Individual & Corporate Holistic Solutions

Introduction to Chakra Balancing

What are Chakras and Chakra Balancing?

The Chakras (Sanskrit meaning ‘spinning wheel of energy’) are the seven primary energy centres in our aura. Around each human being there is an energy field known as the aura.

Some people can see the aura with all its colours, others can see a faint light, some cannot see anything at all, but this does not matter.

The colours in our aura change depending on our state of health or our mood.

The colour and energy of the aura is produced by the chakras. Each chakra has its own area of ‘responsibility’ towards maintaining homeostasis (balance) as explained further below.

What benefits can result from Chakra balancing?

In order to keep our Chakras working at peak efficiency, they need to be working together like a team. Stress can cause imbalance and manifest itself as physical illness, which itself is often a sign that our Chakras are out of balance.

Chakra balancing helps with many negative conditions which cause concern, these can include:

  • anxiety, panic,  depression or grief,
  • addiction,
  • insomnia,
  • physical ill health and more.

Chakra balancing can also help in positive situations which might be creating stress, such as:

  • marriage,
  • house move,
  • promotion or job change,
  • a new birth
  • celebrations and the like.

Depending on how one perceives challenges, by working on your chakras you can experience a long-lasting feeling of well-being every day of your life.  Helping you to:

Remain calm and develop confidence, energy, freedom and happiness to feel good about yourself and everyday life.
See challenges for what they are, and not become as affected by them.
Overcome past life experiences which could have left their mark on you.
Help others without their problems affecting you.

A brief History of Chakra balancing

The Chakras were first mentioned in the Vedas, ancient Hindu texts of knowledge, and have been known about and integral to holistic therapy practices for centuries.

Early texts that provide the location of the chakras include: the Shri Jabala Darshana Upanishad and the Yoga-Shikka Upanishad.

Hiroshi Motoyama in “Theories of the Chakras: Bridge to Higher Consciousness” discusses these texts and those of 10th Century mystic Guru Goraknath who wrote in the Gorakshashatakam about awakening these energy centres through meditation.

According to Anodea Judith in her book “Wheels of Life”, these early Hindu writings come from an even older oral tradition of the Aryan culture.

This Aryan culture was believed to have invaded India during the second century B.C. bringing with it its culture and beliefs.

Without going into depth into this version of the origins of the chakras and the associated Aryan controversy, it is interesting to note that chakras and auras are often associated with rainbows.

Rainbow colours and rainbow myths are present in many cultures. Two of the most noted in western culture are the rainbow that appeared as a sign to Noah after the flood and the Hopi rainbow warrior.

In the “other systems and chakras” link, the relationship between the Kabbalistic sefirot and the chakra system is discussed. The legend of the rainbow warrior is also discussed in some detail in Rosalyn Bruyere‘s book, “Wheels of Light”.

Reverend Bruyere tells the story of the warrior who sought meaning in the rainbow of colour that he saw around everything.

Find out about our Chakra Balancing treatments